Nanostructures for Photonics

St. Petersburg and Peterhof, Russia


Dear NSP 2020 Participants,
The Conference Organizing committee has been closely monitoring the situation concerning the COVID-19 and have made a difficult decision to postpone NSP 2020 to this autumn. The new Conference dates will be announced later.

Organized jointly by ITMO University, Fund for Laser Physics, EU Marie Curie Initial Training Network “INDEED”, with financial support of the Russian Science Foundation

Physics and technology of nanostructured materials for photonic applications has become an important area of technology that is poised to transform ongoing technologies and ultimately our everyday life in the future. On the other hand, synthesis, modeling and characterization of such materials help to better understand the fundamental physics at the nanoscale.

The main goal of NSP-2020 is to review recent achievements in various fields related to advanced photonic nanostructures and provide high level courses and training for students.

The workshop features tutorial-style talks, poster sessions for students, lively discussions and interesting cultural program in Peterhof and Pushkin – the former summer residences of the Russian emperors.

The first two working days of NSP-2020 will be organized in partnership with the 19-th International Conference Laser Optics (ICLO 2020). NSP co-chairs will host there a session on optical nanomaterials with a possibility for oral talks for the selected student’s contributions. Students are expected to submit one page summaries of their presentations in PDF format that meet IEEE quality review standards. The summaries may be eligible for inclusion in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. Detailed information on ICLO 2020 (Key Dates, Payment Information) can be found at the conference website

Therefore, NSP-2020 will be held in two locations:

There will be several social events such as the welcome party, the workshop banquet, a bus trip to Pushkin, and excursions to famous sites in Peterhof area including its world-class parks and museums.

The workshop promises wide opportunities for interaction, exciting discussions, and invigorating debates. We hope your experiences here will stimulate new collaborations and spark on future breakthroughs.

All authors are invited to submit a manuscript related to their contributions, which will be considered for publication in a special issue «Nanostructures for Photonics» of Reviews on Advanced Materials and Technologies. Please visit the journal website at for instructions on the manuscript preparation and submission. The manuscripts should be submitted before the end of the conference.